As an engineer I am passionate about education. We need more students to learn the STEM subjects (Science Technology Engineering Maths) if we are to be a knowledge led economy and for this we undoubtedly need an excellent education system.  As the world gets ever more technological it frightens me that these two truths are not evident to all.  I have spent some time and my own resources in helping in this area and one concrete result was the When STEM report I helped sponsor and create along with the IMechE.

I try not to veer into political minefields in my writings, but sometimes it is just unavoidable. In this case I feel that the overall UK education debate is cheapened by the continual yearly squabble about grade inflation and exams becoming easier.  There seems to me, with an engineers view, that there is a very simple solution which…

View original post 1,033 more words

