A reminder of why we don’t want pets from the wild 🙂

Smallfox Photos

‘Twas the first day of summer and on a hot and humid night I heard something outside, knocking about on the shed over the back fence. And lo, I saw that it was a possum, a brush-tailed possum (the commonest kind in Australia) which are common throughout urban centres here, being highly adaptable in their diet. It was the first time since we’d moved here that I had seen one.

Distant Possum

I called my wife who was delighted to see the little cutie, and she brought it a banana, threw pieces to it. I was afraid that I might scare it off with the flash of my camera but it didn’t seem perturbed at all.

Prehensile

Loves bananas

It was so unperturbed that it eventually came down onto the table by the fence and happily accepted more banana. It even allowed us to stroke it while it ate. I could see that it was…

View original post 329 more words

