SoLoMo Consulting

DARPA considers GPS unreliable, as it isn’t always available and signals can be easily jammed.

Source: www.pcworld.com

What takes this into a step change from evolution, is that’s what it is, is the use of ordinary every day objects. Whether it is revolutionary or evolutionary may be something they don’t share for now if it is about getting an edge on military opponents.

A key issue is the cost of technology. When I got my first in-car navigation system, the NASA designed gyros and accelerometers which gave me high accuracy put the retail price tag at around US$4,500. I didn’t lay for it, part of my job was the launch of these systems in New Zealand.

Our mapping car however had a system which was also large and bulky and in the region of $200,000 and the reason was that it had to be accurate to within 15cm even when…

View original post 482 more words

