Make It Your Problem

Not much. I was what they called a hand full. I struggled with the rules and expectations of others. (Still do) I had trouble staying in line and staying inside the lines. (Still do) I was impatient and persistent. (Still am). But I did learn or relearn because I believe my grandma taught me the same lesson earlier. I learned that changing our circumstances will only go so far to resolve our problems. The harder change is changing our attitude. (I had one, still do)

I have worked with hundreds of families over the years who had workers changing their circumstances. Programs fed their children. Programs provided them with housing. Government provided them income. Social workers provided them transportation. Everyone was doing something for them but they became less motivated to do something for themselves. The external changing of circumstances seemed to exacerbate the problems. They had house and hearth…

View original post 110 more words

