Make It Your Problem

listen

The biggest challenge I see in my future, both today and 25 years from now is listening. In order to make a difference, live ethically and encourage hope, I need to listen, globally. There is so much noise in my world (yours I imagine too). Conventional media broadcasts every minute of every day, marketers cram messaging into every cranny of my life, and social media has given all of a platform to raise our voices and lift our ideas. Infotainment, propaganda, journomanipulation, shout for my attention and I often react by shutting out everything, or at least everything that doesn’t confirm what I am already thinking. How do I sort through the morass and discern which magic elixir, remarkable insight or mundane fact is relevant in this moment? How do I decide which conjecture has passed an imagined burden of proof today so that it can be called fact?

I…

View original post 135 more words

